THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT'S 18 ADDITIONAL MEPs

The Treaty of Lisbon foresees **751** seats in the European Parliament, instead of the Nice's **736** seats, meaning that the Treaty of Lisbon gives 18 additional seats to 12 Member States:

- to Spain -4;
- to Austria, France, Sweden 2 each;

• to Bulgaria, Italy, Latvia, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovenia, the United Kingdom - 1 each.

At the same time Germany loses 3 seats.

While these 3 German MEPs can continue until the end of the current period, 18 additional members join the Parliament.

This means, that the European Parliament will have **754 MEPs (736+18)** until the end of the current period.

Pursuant to the European Council's decision of 17 June 2010, an IGC was called to deal with the Treaty change. The IGC met under Coreper II (permanent representatives of the Member States) in Brussels on 23 June 2010. Decided was that the national parliaments of all the 27 Member States ratify the Treaty change prior to the 18 additional MEPs can officially begin working. LINK:

http://www.europarl.europa.eu/news/expert/infopress_pa ge/008-76494-174-06-26-901-20100623IPR76493-23-06-2010-2010-false/default_en.htm